Dublin Sound Lab

Concert – Flowers Blooming Backward...

Dublin Sound Lab

Wednesday 3/4/24, 8pm
Duration, 75mins
Tickets: €16/14

Stan Brakhage, Glaze of Cathexis (silent film) (1990)
John McLachlan, Qualia I, music for Stan Brakhage silent film, Glaze of Cathexis, for clarinet, drums, e-guitar, violin, and video (9 mins) (2024)
Eryk Salvaggio / DSL, Flowers Blooming Backward into Noise, video by Eryk Salvaggio, for clarinet, drums, e-guitar, violin (c.20 mins) (2023)
João Pedro Oliveira, for M*, for clarinet, violin, electronics and video (7 mins) (2024)
Daniel McDermott, Bezier Lines, for clarinet, drums, e-guitar, violin, and video (7 mins) (2024)
Alexander Schubert, Sensate Focus, for clarinet, drums, e-guitar, violin, and lighting (14 mins) (2014)

* Music Current Commission

Paul Roe, clarinets
Feilimidh Nunan, violin
Caitriona Frost, percussion
Shane Latimer, e-guitar

In this new programme of “classic”, new and commissioned works, Dublin Sound Lab explores the relationship between musical material and visual representation. In “Glaze of Cathexis” John McLachlan responds to the raw visual composition of Stan Brakhage’s eponymous film. Daniel McDermott’s “Bezier Lines” considers abstract shape as musical material, and is in turn transposed and answered by Mihai Cucu’s video response. Eryk Salvaggio’s “Flowers Blooming Backward into Noise” is a 20-minute animated “documanifesto” on the history, context, mechanics and limitations of AI art, "performed" here with a provocative musical response. Joao Pedro Oliveira’s new Music Current commission, "for M" integrates live music, electronic audio and video projection into a single visual-music artwork. Alexander Schubert’s visually stunning “Sensate Focus”, for ensemble and lighting, focuses the senses on the razor-sharp synchronisation between live sound and light.

"Dublin Sound Lab is doing an important job for those in Ireland who remain passionate about music in the post-war avant-garde lineage and who rarely get the opportunity to hear such 'difficult' music performed… …flying the flag in Ireland over the past decade for European modernism." (Liam Cagney, Journal of Music)

Dublin Sound Lab is a contemporary music project group specialising in electronic and computer-mediated concert performance. As well as presenting existing works, we initiate collaborations and use computer-based techniques to explore relationships between compositional process and performance practice, and to create new and engaging concert experiences. Formed in 2008 by composer Fergal Dowling and organist Michael Quinn, Dublin Sound Lab has worked with many leading Irish and international composers, performing works by: Ailis Ni Riain, Gérard Grisey, Salvatore Sciarrino, Kaija Saariaho, Luca Francesconi, Karlheinz Essl, Peter Ablinger, Mauricio Kagel, Wim de Ruiter, Ann Cleare, Scott McLaughlin, Barry Truax, Roderik de Man, Karen Tanaka, Jean-Claude Risset, Ed Bennett, Judith Ring, Gerald Barry, Jonathan Nangle, Jonathan Harvey, Rob Canning, Gráinne Mulvey, David Bremner, and Garth Knox, amongst others.